Skip to content

Jabberwocky

by மேல் ஏப்ரல் 27, 2016

இரண்டு மூன்று நாட்களுக்கு முன் கண்ணில் பட்ட ‘கவிதை’. ஜாபர்வாக்கி, Walrus and the Carpenter, எட்வர்ட் லியரின் limericks, சுகுமார் ரேயின் ஹா ஜா போ லா ரா போன்றவை சிறு வயதில் படிக்க ஏற்றவை என்பார்கள். எனக்கோ இவற்றில் கிடைக்கும் மகிழ்ச்சி enjoyment இத்தனை வயதான பிறகும் குறையவே இல்லை. மன அளவில் நான் வளரவே இல்லை என்று நினைக்கிறேன்!

‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

“Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch!”

He took his vorpal sword in hand;
Long time the manxome foe he sought—
So rested he by the Tumtum tree
And stood awhile in thought.

And, as in uffish thought he stood,
The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame,
Came whiffling through the tulgey wood,
And burbled as it came!

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
He left it dead, and with its head
He went galumphing back.

“And hast thou slain the Jabberwock?
Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!”
He chortled in his joy.

’Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

தொகுக்கப்பட்ட பக்கம்: சிறுவர்களுக்காக

2 பின்னூட்டங்கள்
  1. David permalink

    I Remember, I Remember

    By Thomas Hood

    I remember, I remember,

    The house where I was born,

    The little window where the sun

    Came peeping in at morn;

    He never came a wink too soon,

    Nor brought too long a day,

    But now, I often wish the night

    Had borne my breath away!

    I remember, I remember,

    The roses, red and white,

    The vi’lets, and the lily-cups,

    Those flowers made of light!

    The lilacs where the robin built,

    And where my brother set

    The laburnum on his birthday,—

    The tree is living yet!

    I remember, I remember,

    Where I was used to swing,

    And thought the air must rush as fresh

    To swallows on the wing;

    My spirit flew in feathers then,

    That is so heavy now,

    And summer pools could hardly cool

    The fever on my brow!

    I remember, I remember,

    The fir trees dark and high;

    I used to think their slender tops

    Were close against the sky:

    It was a childish ignorance,

    But now ’tis little joy

    To know I’m farther off from heav’n

    Than when I was a boy.

    _______________________

    This was one of the poems that I enjoyed as a youngster. Childhood remembered is more romantic than childhood itself..

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. புல்லட்டின் போர்ட் (அண்மைய பதிவுகளுக்கு கீழே scroll செய்யவும்) | சிலிகான் ஷெல்ஃப்

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

Developer Resources

Create cool applications that integrate with WordPress.com

யுவகிருஷ்ணா

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

புத்தகம்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

பாலகுமாரன் பேசுகிறார்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

முரளிகண்ணன்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

நான் வாசித்த தமிழ்ப் புத்தகங்கள்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

நந்தவனம்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

MVM

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

தமிழ் பேப்பர்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

தமிழிலே எழுதுவோம்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

கண்ணோட்டம்- KANNOTTAM

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

கணிதம்

ஜாலியாக...

கடுகு தாளிப்பு

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

எழுத்து - காரம் - சாரம் - சுதாங்கன்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

என் ஜன்னலுக்கு வெளியே...

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

உங்கள் ரசிகன்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

அன்புடன்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

அழியாச் சுடர்கள்

புத்தகங்களுக்காக ஒரு ப்ளாக்

